Provincial Negotiating Committee

The NSNU is an active, member-driven organization dedicated to meeting the unique needs and interests of its members. First and foremost, the union enables members to voice their concerns on issues that affect their profession. The Union provides the opportunity through the member selected Provincial Negotiating Committee (PNC) and bargaining surveys for nurses to have input into the collective bargaining process. 

The following are the elected NSNU Acute Care PNC representatives serving on Council of Nursing Unions Bargaining Team:

Acute Care PNC

  • Janet Hazelton, RN (President)
  • Christine Van Zoost, RN (Vice President)
  • Dawn McKenna, LPN - St. Martha’s Regional Hospital (LPN Representative)
  • Janis Ritcey, LPN - Dartmouth General Hospital (Central Representative)
  • Donna Gillis, RN - Aberdeen Hospital (Northern Representative)
  • Laura Lee Sharpe, RN - Cape Breton Regional Hospital (Eastern Representative)
  • Sarah Lace, RN - Valley Regional Hospital (Western Representative)
  • Edson Castilho, RN – IWK Representative (IWK Representative)
  • Vicki Royles, RN - Aberdeen Hospital (Member-at-Large)
  • Dianna Hutt, RN - Valley Regional Hospital (Member-at-Large)
  • Alaine Halliday, LPN - Aberdeen Hospital (Member-at-Large)


  • Daniel Scott, LPN - Colchester Regional Hospital (LPN, Northern)
  • Mitchell Procter, RN - Dartmouth General Hospital (Central)
  • Helen Uhlman, RN - HSAS - Fishermans/South Shore (Western)
  • David Fox, RN - St. Martha’s Regional Hospital (Eastern, Member-at-Large)
  • Michelle Lowe, RN - HSAS - Fishermans/South Shore (Member-at-Large)
  • Jen Thiele, RN - Dartmouth General Hospital (Member-at-Large)

CFNU Canadian Labour Congress